Water Animals Names: Sea, Aquatic, Ocean & Animals with Pictures List

Learn different types of under Sea Animals Names with pictures. Sea animals are also called Aquatic Animals, Ocean Animals, underwater animals, marine creatures, or sea creatures.

These animals are such animals that live in the saltwater of the sea or ocean. These mammals are aquatic mammals that are based on the ocean and other marine ecosystems for their habitat. They include animals like seals, whales, sharks, dolphins, octopuses. 

sea water animals name

Sea animals may breathe air or extract oxygen that dissolves in water through gills which is a part of their respiratory system functions. 

Sea animals are also grown under freshwater such as a lake, river, pond, etc. there are a lot of seas or aquatic animals who live under the water, not only fishes. But also many of the creatures are unknown to us, but their habitat exists.

List of Water, Sea, Aquatic, & Ocean Animals

  • Blue whale
  • Shark
  • Penguin
  • Dolphin
  • Octopus
  • Seal
  • Sealion
  • Crab
  • Piranha
  • Sea horse
  • Goldfish
  • Walrus
  • Prawns
  • Catfish
  • Platypus
  • Tuna
  • Oyster
  • Jellyfish
  • Eal
  • Salmon

Water & Sea Animals Information and Pictures

Blue whale
The blue whale is a marine mammal, and it is the largest animal that has ever lived and is still present, which is far bigger than the largest dinosaur. It is also said that the weight of this mammal is the same as the Elephant’s weight.

blue whale

The shark is considered the predator king of the ocean and sea. It looks like a streamlined torpedo, having five to seven gills on each side of the head, tough skin, and a large oil-filled liver.


A black and white bird is unable to fly, but the wings are modified like gills which it uses to swim. This sea bird is mostly found in cold atmospheric locations. They spend half of their lives on land and the other half in water.


Dolphin is a marine animal that is also called the most intelligent marine animal among its species. Dolphins belong to the fish species from the whale family. 


The octopus is a soft-bodied eight-limbed unsegmented animal of the order Octopoda. It is bilaterally symmetric, having two eyes and a beak along with a mouth at the center point of eight limbs. They trail their eight limbs from behind while swimming.


The seal is a web-footed marine animal, and also a mammal which found mostly in cold seas looks tapered at the end and round at the middle which is very graceful to swimming.


Sea lions are characterized by external ear flaps, long fore flippers which provide the ability to walk on four flippers, along with short thick hair and a big chest and belly.


Crabs are mostly found in the sea, and sometimes they come on the beach along with the waves. They are also found in freshwater, on land, and are generally covered with an exoskeleton. It has a single pair of pincers from which they bite their prey. 


The piranha is a member of the fish family Serrasalmidae. It is also found in the freshwater, American river, lakes, floodplains, and reservoirs. It is also known as the water predator, which mainly feeds on fishes or sometimes eats plant materials, which makes it an omnivorous animal.


Sea horse
The sea horse is a marine animal that is an upright fish, and its face looks like a horse. They are very poor in swimming which swims using their dorsal fin on their back and moves with the pectoral fins.

sea horse

Goldfish is a fish whose color is like a gold color. It is a freshwater, marine fish that belongs to the family Cyprinidae. This fish is very common when it comes to keeping an aquarium in the house.


The walrus is a large flippered marine animal and also a mammal with a random distribution in cold seawater. It is the only living species from the Odobenidae family. 


The prawns are little fishes that contain the largest pincers. Shrimps are bigger, which also means prawns have large claws on two pairs of legs. It generally contains five pairs of legs and a mustache. These fishes are mostly used for commercial purposes.


Catfishes are a diverse group of ray-finned fish. Their order is defined by the swim bladder and skull and is also considered as a commercial fish. 


Platypus is referred to as the duck-billed mouth marine animal and a semi-aquatic mammal that lays eggs. Some of its species had been seen in the fossil records.


Tuna is a widely edible species among fishes in the world. Canned tuna fish is also the most common source of mercury. 


Oyster is the common name for some families of saltwater mollusks. These species are highly calcified and of irregular shapes and sizes. They are also consumed raw or cooked. Pearl oysters are also harvested for obtaining pearls for commercial benefits.


Jellyfish are also called sea jellies are mostly free-swimming marine animals with umbrella-shaped bells and tentacles. Their bells are so efficient which are used for locomotion themselves underwater.


Eel is a common name for a fish that looks like a snake. This fish lacks a hind pair of fins, helping them to move in the mud and rocky shores.

Salmon is another name for ray-finned fish from the family Salmonidae. They are intensively harvested in many parts of the world. They are also consumed as food on their excellent food quality and lower content of environmental contaminants.


Learn More Animals Name